Houston Teen Driving Accident
Houston’s roads can be dangerous and intimidating, and this risk escalates significantly when teen drivers are involved. For teen drivers, driving represents a major leap towards independence, but it also brings a hefty responsibility that demands thorough training, vigilant attention, and carefulness. The repercussions can be severe for everyone on the road when young drivers neglect the necessary level of care.
Patterns in Teen Related Car Accidents
Houston teen driving car accidents usually occur at night. Also, the driver is usually speeding and loses control of the vehicle. Most teenagers have a sense of invulnerability, which is not necessarily a negative. However, many teens do not appreciate the danger of speeding at night. Also, teenagers have limited driving experience, which adds to the dangers of night-time driving.
Common Causes of a Houston Teen Driving Accident
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in 2020 there were approximately 200,000 auto accidents that involved teen drivers. The primary factor making teens a hazard on the roads is their limited driving experience. Gaining confidence at the wheel and in diverse driving conditions takes time, which teens initially lack. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) identifies common behaviors among teen drivers at the time of an accident:
- Transporting teenage passengers
- Distracted Driving
- Driving while intoxicated
- Failure to use or correctly wear seatbelts
- Driving while distracted
- Reckless driving
- Nighttime driving
- Driving while fatigued
As teenagers become more accustomed to driving, they often develop a sense of invulnerability. Additionally, peer pressure can lead them to drink and drive. Some teens might also want to flaunt their driving licenses and vehicles to their peers.
Can Parents Be Held Responsible for a Houston Teen Driving Accident?
Texas follows the negligent entrustment doctrine. Parents can be held liable if a judge or jury determines that a parent negligently entrusted a vehicle to a teenage driver. Under this doctrine, a vehicle owner, like a parent, can be held responsible for the negligence of a driver they entrusted with the vehicle, if these three conditions are met:
- The vehicle owner was aware or should have been aware that the entrusted individual was reckless, incompetent, or unlicensed.
- The vehicle owner permitted another person to drive the vehicle.
- The entrusted individual’s negligence led to the accident and resulting injuries.
For instance, if a teen does not have a driver’s license or has been drinking and a parent allows the teen to drive, the parent could be held liable for any ensuing accident.
When Can Teenagers Drive in Texas?
Texas has a Graduated Drivers License Program. Teenagers can take driver’s education at 14 years old. At 15, teenagers can apply for a learner’s license, which allows a teenager to drive with a licensed adult in the vehicle. The learner’s license must be held for six months before applying for the provisional license. At 16, a teenager can apply for a provisional license, which also has driving restrictions such as limited drive time and a limited number of passengers. At 18 years old, a teenager can apply for a full license.
What makes us different?
The Molina Law Firm has been representing auto accident victims for over 20 years, helping them navigate the sometimes complex legal fight against corporations and ultimately insurance companies. Remember that when you retain Attorney Rick Molina, you pay nothing upfront and we only collect a percentage of the compensation you receive only when we have won your case. Don’t go against the insurance carriers alone. Attorney Rick Molina will aggressively represent you and fight on your behalf. We have the knowledge, resources, and experience to get you all the compensation you deserve for your loss, pain and suffering, and other damages.